Insider 11-10-2017

Now that Company of Iron has been out for two weeks, lots of people have jumped into this new way to settle conflicts in the Iron Kingdoms. As a result, we’ve seen a lot of talk across all of social media. This Insider is an informal Frequently Asked Questions.

Don’t worry, in the near future an official Errata and FAQ document will be posted, and the Rules Addendum has been updated to include clarified text for Berserk and the trample power attack rules, but we wanted to address some of the questions we’ve seen you ask now rather than later.

The first thing I’d like to say is to reiterate what I’ve been saying for months. There isn’t really a “wrong” way to play Company of Iron. If there is something you want to try that isn’t completely covered in the rules yet, talk it over with your opponent and give it a shot. This can be really simple things like playing a 30-point game, or more complicated things like creating a scenario that uses a gargantuan. The game is designed to be casual, so you can bend the rules as much as you want.

For those of you out there who are current WARMACHINE and HORDES players, I’ve noticed a consistent amount of confusion on the net that all boils down to one simple concept. While Company of Iron takes much of its inspiration from the current edition of the parent game, it is its own thing. When reading the rules, pay just as much attention to the things that don’t exist as to the things that do. Lots of concepts in WARMACHINE or HORDES were not ported over to Company of Iron. A good example of this is the Company of Iron rule that allows a ’beast or ’jack to use a rule on its card that requires spending focus or being forced. Some players have asked if this allows the model to boost one roll each activation. This is due to a rule in the parent game, but that rule isn’t in Company of Iron, and only a few models have rules on their cards related to spending focus or being forced to boost a roll.

There’s also been a bit of confusion based on War Room functionality. We’re catching bugs and cleaning up functionality in War Room as fast as we can.

Currently, the selection process for your company commander is confusing some people. When you build a Company of Iron, there is a separate selection tab for choosing your commander. This tab allows you to add a Command Attachment to the army without including the unit it is attached to. This is an unintended loophole, and the rules for including an attachment must still be followed when building an army.

One of the final small things is a confusion about abilities that heal models. Many rules can remove damage from models, but as the rules say, healing doesn’t do anything for Injured models.

Some other quick clarifications:
When the command deck runs out of cards, reshuffle the discards to make a new deck.

All models have the capacity to take at least one point of damage, but models that have only one damage box do not display it on their cards. So, if you make the leader of a unit with no printed damage boxes your commander, the model will have six damage boxes, not five.

Casualty rolls have three results: incapacitated, injured, and knocked down. An injured model is considered knocked down for rules interactions, but the knocked-down casualty roll result is separate from the injured result. When an injured model is chosen to activate and the result of the new casualty roll is a 5 or 6, the model is no longer injured and is only knocked down.

Creating new models isn’t affected by the rule that changes abilities that add or return models to the game, so abilities that replace or place models work as written. This means that Necrotechs still make Scrap Thralls and Incubi still pop out of dead blighted Nyss.

Models that can’t move without help are not currently covered in the Company of Iron rules. This includes models which can move only if they are within a certain range of another model, like the Legion of Everblight Spawning Vessel. If you are ever unsure if a model is included in Company of Iron, check the Requisition Cost PDF. If the model isn’t listed there, then it isn’t intended to be used without talking it over with your opponent.

A model that contributes a bonus to another model using the Combined Ranged Attack or Combined Melee Attack advantage does not sacrifice any part of its own activation. These bonuses are passive.

The last clarification is specifically for Inhuman Resolve. This is an odd rule in both WARMACHINE and Company of Iron. Some players have asked if a model with this rule can be attacked to force it to take more casualty rolls. It cannot, because casualty rolls are only made when a model first becomes disabled, or if a model begins an activation injured. Since a model with Inhuman Resolve is already disabled, it cannot become disabled again due to an attack.

And to wrap things up, here are a few things that will appear in the Errata when it is published:
On page 21 of the core rules, under Attacking Injured Targets, the first sentence of the second paragraph should say, “If a ranged or magic attack by an attacker within .5˝ targets an injured model, the attack automatically hits and the target is automatically boxed.”

Add the following to the end of the third paragraph of the Spray Attacks section on page 2 of the Advanced rules: Ignore cloud effect terrain when determining if the attacker’s line of sight is completely blocked to a model under a spray template.

I hope that clarifies a lot of things, and I’m look forward to seeing more battle reports and scenarios posted by all of you.

Don't forget to check out the Forge Your Company of Iron contest as well, and have your company added to the legacy of the Iron Kingdoms!